Mosaic Gifts

Increasingly these days I find myself seeking justification for making more mosaics. Therefore in my eternal quest to feed my mosaic addiction, or passion as I prefer to call it, I’ve began making mosaics as gifts for people.  However it does live off the premise that other people actually want mosaics which in itself is debatable: the lack of many commercial mosaicists these days would testify for a low demand. Nevertheless, mosaics as gifts give you the pleasure of making the mosaic whilst allowing you to give someone that something unique which they cannot find elsewhere.

One such idea for this is the idea of mosaic coasters, as photographed below. These were made for my equestrian driven better half, hence the horseshoes, however I’ve drawn up some more traditional or classical designs for future projects.

A selection of three equestrian themed coasters, quick but reasonably effective

A selection of three equestrian themed coasters, quick but reasonably effective

Since coasters are fairly small items by nature they are an ideal small project that do not require much effort for what you get out of it. Furthermore if you do not wish to cut and shape the coaster base yourself you can easily buy cheap plain coasters and just mosaic over the top and have a finished product in just an evening, but don’t forget to grout it.

Here are a few geometric  possibilities for future mosaic coasters

Here are a few geometric possibilities for future mosaic coasters

I have a few ideas for more 21st century decorative uses for mosaics up my sleeves which I shall be trying to make in the near future so keep coming back for more mosaic ideas

One thought on “Mosaic Gifts

  1. Pingback: More Mosaics! | myromanbritain

Leave a Reply

